

Carlos M Ferrario MD, FAHA, FISH, FAPS, FACC, Dewitt-Cordell Professor of Surgical Sciences and the Founder of the Hypertension and Vascular Research Center, Atrium Health Wake Forest School of Medicine is the 2023 American Heart Association Distinguished Scientist award recipient. The Distinguished Scientist designation was created in 2003 to honor AHA/ASA members who have made extraordinary contributions to cardiovascular, stroke, and brain health research. Recipients of this prestigious award are honored during the Presidential Session at AHA Scientific Sessions on November 11, 2023 (Philadelphia, PA).

This title recognizes Ferrario's discovery of angiotensin-(1-7), the primary role of angiotensin converting enzyme 2 in the regulation of cardiac function and activation of the vasodilator and anti-inflammatory arm of the renin angiotensin system, and the identification of brain mechanisms involved in the pathogenesis of high blood pressure.

Ferrario has published 520 peer-reviewed papers (H-index 112), 79 book chapters, and four books. He is a leader in research organizations worldwide, serving as editor, guest editor, or editorial board member for several journals, including Therapeutic Advances in Cardiovascular Diseases, Circulation, Circulation Research, Hypertension, Clinical Sciences, and American Journal of Physiology-Heart and Circulation.

Dr. Ferrario has received numerous prestigious awards from national and international organizations, including the Ignacio Chavez Centennial Gold Medal of Honor, the National University of Mexico in 1988, Established Investigator in Clinical Science Award, Wake Forest University School of Medicine (1999), the Medal of Merit from the International Society for Heart Research (2001), the Arthur C. Corcoran Memorial Award, Council on Hypertension, AHA (2005), the 2006 Distinguished Alumnus Award, The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Lifetime Achievement Award from the Consortium Southeastern Hypertension Control (2007) and the Inter-American Society of Hypertension (2003), the 2009 Excellence Award in Hypertension Research (Novartis) from the AHA Hypertension Council, and the 2018 Living History Recognition Award from the American Physiological Society.