Awards .

IASH provides awards for early career investigators to support their travel expenses to IASH meeting. The applicants must be IASH members at the time of application.

Romero C, Kumar N, Carretero OA. Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, USA (Second Place: $US 750).
Production of anti-inflammatory peptide N-Acetyl-Seryl-Aspartyl-Lysyl-Proline (Ac-SDKP) in Kidney

Perdicaro J, Rodriguez Lanzi MC, Antoniolli A, Fontina A, Bottini RA, Miatello RM, Vasquez Prieto MA. Labaratorio de fisiopatologia Cardiovacular, FCM, Universidad Nacional de Cuyo e Instituto de Medicina y Biologia Experimental de Cuyo (IMBECU)-CONICET, and Instituto de Biologia Agricola de Mendoza (IBAM-CONICET), Mendoza Argentina (Third place: $US 500).

Participation of food rich in phenolic compounds on adipose tissue angiogenesis and inflammation

The IASH participated at this year’s American Heart Association Council on Hypertension Scientific Sessions by offering the IASH/COH New Investigator Travel Award for Central and South American Trainees.

The top 10-scored submitted abstracts were selected to receive complimentary registration to the conference plus $1,000 U.S. Dollars to help defray travel expenses.

New investigators presented their abstracts in either oral or poster format during the conference. Visit our Facebook page to see pictures of the IASH activities during this scientific meeting.

The Awards Committee of the Inter-American Society of Hypertension (IASH) is seeking nominations for the IASH Lifetime Achievement Award. The IASH Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to one individual who has had a lifetime of outstanding achievements in the field of hypertension, shown service to the IASH, and has served as a role model through service, research, and teaching. In general, the recipient of this award must have had a career spanning at least 25 years.

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award must include the following:
  • Curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • A letter of nomination and two supporting letters from individuals who are familiar with the candidate’s contribution to the field of hypertension and service to the IASH.

The Awards Committee will assess the candidate’s overall scientific, teaching and service contributions to the field of hypertension and to the IASH.

Please send nominations to the following address:

Jasmina Varagic, MD, PhD
Chair, IASH Awards Committee
Hypertension and Vascular Research Center
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Medical Center Blvd
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1032

Bridget Brosnihan, Ph.D. USA 2014 BRAZIL
Luis I. Juncos, M.D. Argentina 2011 USA
John E. Hall, Ph.D. – USA 2009 BRAZIL
Alberto Nasjletti, M.D. – USA 2007 USA
Artur Beltrame Ribeiro, M.D., Ph.D. – Brazil 2005 MÉXICO
Carlos M. Ferrario, M.D. – USA 2003 USA
Juan Carlos Romero, M.D. – USA 2001 CHILE
Oscar Carretero, M.D. – USA 1999 ARGENTINA
Edward D. Frohlich, M.D. – USA 1999 ARGENTINA
Eduardo Krieger, M.D., Ph.D. – Brazil 1997 MÉXICO